The 10 Commandments by Dina Goldstein on Artsy

OPUS IN ARTEM presents

The 10 Commandments by Dina Goldstein on Artsy

The show is online from September, 1 to October, 15, 2022
and it accompanied by a Viewing Room during the same period.

In her series “The 10 Commandments” from 2019, Dina Goldstein has created artworks that match a different American president to one of the Ten Commandments. The series wants to provoke visual shock, incongruity and irony and metaphor to inspire a discourse into how American society has gone so astray.

As art critic Sonja Baksa writes, “The 10 Commandments” can be seen as Goldstein´s most controversial series yet.
Its grounding piece, Lincoln, depicts the 16th and most popular President in the aftermath of the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting. His towering figure barely fits in the otherwise empty school corridor littered with children’s clothes, glass shards, bullet shells and blood stains. Yet the sense of mourning and loss emanating from the scene renders him small and defeated.

By extension, the imagery renders small the constitutional principles on which The United States were founded. Coupled with the 6th Commandment “Thou shall not kill”, the piece evokes the President’s own public assassination and further underlines the country’s ongoing issues of gun violence and gun policy. Using her established cinematic methodology, Goldstein blocks the Lincoln scene meticulously, each segment, each prop strategic and symbolic, coming together after a months-long pre-production process. All the while capturing in the singular still image a hint of the storyline that forms the greater narrative sequence of the series. That narrative seeks to examine the socio-political makeup of America through its political icons – the presidential figures that mark the most notable and controversial chapters in American history.

Each tableau features a President portrayed through the prism of their politics, popularity and/or notoriety, further contextualized by a contemporary backdrop, and assigned one of the moral and ethical postulates of the Ten Commandments. These, often humorous, narrative juxtapositions deconstruct the layers of political deceit, exposing latent hypocrisies and challenging the integrity of a system that is supposed to be a model of democracy and social progress. In the context of the series, Lincoln reaffirms the gravitas that lightness and humour in other pieces may inadvertently obscure.